Open Thread: Open Thread: This Week in Style News Remembering Gösta Peterson, the cult of waiting in line — and more. http://ift.tt/2ubTkXu

from Umbelas.com http://ift.tt/1Ioewak
via IFTTT

Central London’s high street is known pretty much around the globe for its unique take on fashion. That huge stretch from Oxford Street round to Regent Street is populated with tourists and locals on their lunch break seeking out the best style deals from Topshop’s flagship store to Primark and Warehouse (with head to toe looks designed by Emma Cook). The high street is the place that you are guaranteed accessible price points + on trend designs. And this upcoming season, a whole host of new stores will be opening up to inject a European edge into London’s Oxford Street and Regent Street shopping area. First up, the fashion brand that has been dubbed Kate Moss’ favourite: Reserved. European fashion brand Reserved will be opening their flagship UK store on Oxford Street on 6th September 2017. And, to coincide with the store announcement this week, the brand also released its AW17 campaign imagery featuring Kate Moss and shot by renowned photographer Daniel Jackson. From a retail landscape perspective this is interesting because the flagship store will open up in the old BHS location on Oxford Circus, filling the huge gap that has been there since the British lifestyle brand shuttered its doors. Weekday and Arket H&M’s high street domination continues (with brands like Monki, &Other Stories and Cos under its belt) H&M will be bringing its brands Weekday and Arket to the London high street now too. Weekday will open at 226 Regent Street in mid August with its autumn/winter 2017 collection (everything from oversized faux shearlings to puffer jackets and chunky knits). Plus, on the opening day, the first 100 customers will receive a free pair of Weekday jeans. Speaking about the upcoming launch David Thörewik, Managing Director said: “We are very happy to finally be able to announce our expansion into the UK. It has always been on our agenda to open up a store in this great fashion country and especially in the inspiring city of London. We believe in great denim and inspiring fashion and we are confident that the UK is a great fit for our offer. We look forward to seeing how our collections are received.” Following Weekday, Arket lands this on August 25th in Regent Street, with locations throughout Europe in the months to follow. Arket is a new brand launch for H&M, it has already racked up 30k followers on Instagram and pre-registered subscribers can get on the mailing list to pre-shop from 23 August at an introductory rate. Clothes wise expect basics but with a nod to better fit and tailoring, with a chic minimalist aesthetic. The post London retail: A new wave of European stores are opening late summer (set your calendar) appeared first on WGSN Insider. http://ift.tt/2urw17u

from Umbelas.com http://ift.tt/1Ioewak
via IFTTT

The Future Creator Award is part of WGSN and ARTS THREAD‘s strategy to celebrate one creative future thinker in each of the six cities that form part of WGSN’s Futures Summit schedule for 2017. Each contest is open to emerging talent from the region of the summit, and the six winners will represent the finest emerging talent from around the world. We caught up with artist and designer Kumi Oda to talk about winning the Hong Kong city award. Here she explains how she created her award winning film “Circle of Silk”. The film is about pure silk (made from the larva of the domesticated silk moth, Bombay Moi) that is used in the fashion and retail industry across the globe. WGSN: Where did you get the inspiration for the “Circle of Silk” piece? Kumi Oda: When I was a child, I was always fascinated with insects. I raised beetles, grasshoppers and butterflies, etc. at home. As I became older, my interests shifted to more creative activities and I completely forgot about my passion for insects. Currently, as a designer, I enjoy working with natural materials; wood, stone, wool and especially silk. I knew silk was made by insects but I had never seen the insects actually produce silk, before I started the project. Then came my curiosity about the historical and cultural value of insects for the Japanese. All these facts inspired me to raise silkworms. The outcome, “Circle of Silk”, is a perfect combination of the passion of my childhood and my background as a Japanese person plus the skills I have obtained through my design education in the Netherlands. Why silkworms? The silkworm powers a multi billion dollar industry as the world’s primary producer of ‘pure silk’. As a result of millennia of selective breeding, the domesticated moth, in contrast to the wild one, has changed colour from dark brown to albino white. They lack any fear of potential predators, cannot fly, needs human assistance in finding a mate, and has increased cocoon size and growth rate. These changes have made domestic silk moths entirely dependent upon humans for survival. I used this project to explore the relationship between humans and animals. As humans we consider animals as either harmful or beneficial; is there another way to relate to them? This project, aims to make us think about our relationship with other living beings. WGSN: How long did you work on the project? Kumi Oda: I spent 8 months on the project. However, it’s ongoing project. I’m still raising silkworms, making films and creating new objects with the silk I produced. WGSN: What does design mean to you? Kumi Oda: My interest is to use design as a tool to present nature and culture in a different context and to invite people to have more interest in the themes. Also to showcase a “real” experience, versus the digital experience which is more common nowadays.My interest is to use design as a tool to present nature and culture in a different context and to invite people to have more interest in the themes. Also to showcase a “real” experience, versus the digital experience which is more common nowadays. Check out the film below, and explore Kumi Oda’s work here. The post Meet Kumi Oda: The designer exploring our relationship with silkworm appeared first on WGSN Insider. http://ift.tt/2vxI8no

from Umbelas.com http://ift.tt/1Ioewak
via IFTTT

When I was 17 I went through a big earring phase – I would go so far as to create my entire outfit around my earrings! Can you believe it? But then I went through an earring drought, at most I wore my full-proof pair of silver skull studs from The Great Frog of London, and sometimes (heaven forbid!) I wore no earrings at all. This new me couldn’t even think back to the time that I would base my entire outfit around a pair of earrings, it seemed silly. But this season with the return of the statement earring, specifically tassel earrings, I’m reminded of the power of earrings to complete any outfit. A few weeks ago I was in my favourite high street store and I got blown away by these bad boys from Topshop; and tentatively dipped my toe back into the earring trend. Topshop earrings I debuted my red tassel earrings with my newly bleached roots and my trusty denim dress, wearing them proudly with a slick of red lippy and a confident smile. And with that one purchase, I was firmly back on ‘team statement earring’. There’s no denying that earrings are having a big fashion moment right now. If you love luxury, there’s the Maria Tash Studio which has been open in Liberty for almost a year now. Maria Tash’s studio offers up beautiful yet edgy jewelry ranges from 18 carat gold, to diamonds, opals and sapphires, the piercings themselves aren’t for the faint hearted! (Neither is the price, I’m saving up for a special occasion!). While on the catwalk, earrings are all about bigger is better. The long drop earring era has evolved with epic proportions which was very evident in the SS17 catwalks, Gucci and Marni being two main designers showcasing this trend. And at an affordable price point? Tassel earrings are dominating the high street and ears all around the globe, especially your favourite Instagram influencer’s. Whether they are nude understated tassel earrings, or large tassels in big bold colours, these earrings are out there to suit everyone. Optimistic and on trend colours such as red bring a huge flash of colour to brighten up any outfit. WGSN colour Editor and expert Hannah Craggs agrees saying: “From a colour perspective I’ve been exploring the triumphant return of red and how, in particular, Scarlet Red is gaining momentum as a sophisticated but still fun fashion choice. Acting as a super bold statement on placement embellishment and hero accessory pieces such as earrings, offers a playful route for brands to incorporate a pop of colour into their ranges. Appearing most directional when applied to high shine or gloss finishes, truly maximizing the impact of this important seasonal colour story.” Below are a selection of my favorite ones right now, your ears will thank me! Topshop tassel earrings h&m nude tassels h&m earrings Vanessa Mooney Astrid tassel earrings The post S/S 17 Tassel earrings are the new It bag, adorn your ears accordingly appeared first on WGSN Insider. http://ift.tt/2v42XX7

from Umbelas.com http://ift.tt/1Ioewak
via IFTTT